none
Deployment problem in VB.NET 2003

Question

• <!--[if !supportEmptyParas]-->

Hello everyone,

I am an old VB6 programmer converted to VB.NET 2003. I just completed an application and need to deploy it. The deployment project is named "TwoProgs" and the executable is named "MyNotePad.exe". I was able to partly deploy the application, that is:
    • The executable is at the right place: C:/ProgramFiles/Default Company Name/TwoProgs/MyNotePad.exe.
    • A shortcut is created on the Desktop which starts the program when double-clicked upon.

But I was not able to generate an entry labeled “TwoProgs” in the “Start…All Programs”, the menu that displays all applications available on the target computer. I would like to have an entry labeled “MyNotepad” which starts the executable “MyNotepad.exe” when clicked upon. How do I do this?????

In other words, in the deployment project, what should I do in the File System Panel after selecting the “User’s Program Menu” on the left side?

I am really stuck. Thanks in advance for your help.

Monday, December 03, 2007 4:53 AM

Answers

• Hello mate,
    Deploying your project for programm menu is as simple as creating desktop shortcut.
    You have to do same thing which you have done for creating shortcut on desktop.
    Select File System/User's Program menu and then do the same process which you have applied for creating shortcut.
    i.e create shortcut

Please try it will help you out.

Monday, December 03, 2007 5:31 AM
  • Hey!
    Just fallow some simple step
    Go to setup properties.
    Click on prerequesties...
    Select your prerequesties like
    dotnet faramework, crystal as per your requirment.
    Then rebuild your setup.

I hope this will short out your problem.
    Wednesday, December 05, 2007 11:55 AM
  • Sumit,

Please....give me more details....on how to get there.
    Where is setup properties?
    I did not find this in the file system.
    Help...!  Where is prerequisites?