none
Reading a fixed length random access text file in vb.net 2003

Question

• I know this is old stuff but one of our systems outputs it's data in a fixed field length text file.  It's a very old system and they are not planning to upgrade if to several months.  The nice people from this forum helped me get the Structure right for vb.net 2003.

Now what I'm having a problem with is opening the file to read the data.  I had it setup in VB6 but vb.net is a whole new monster and I'm still learning it. 

Does anyone have a tiny bit of code that could get me on the right path?

How do you convert:

Dim Order(10) As OrderHeader
    Open DataPath & "mlhdr" For Random As #iFile1 Len = 770

to vb.net and once it's opened.  What replaces the Get, Put and Input commands from VB6?

Once again... thanks in advance.
    Sam

Wednesday, November 16, 2005 12:42 PM

Answers

• Use the filestream object:

Public Sub New(ByVal path As
    String, ByVal mode As System.IO.FileMode, ByVal access As System.IO.FileAccess, ByVal share As System.IO.FileShare, ByVal bufferSize As Integer, ByVal useAsync As Boolean)

Member of: System.IO.FileStream

Summary:

Initializes a new instance of the System.IO.FileStream class with the specified path, creation mode, read/write and sharing permission, buffer size, and synchronous or asynchronous state.

Parameters:

bufferSize: A positive System.Int32 value greater than 0 indicating the buffer size. For bufferSize values between zero and eight, the actual buffer size is set to eight bytes.

share: A System.IO.FileShare constant that determines how the file will be shared by processes.

mode: A System.IO.FileMode constant that determines how to open or create the file.