none
C# SQL Server Connection Pooling

Question

• Hello,

I'm using SQL Server 2005 and Visual Studio 2008.  I've been reading up on connection pooling and I can see that it would make quite a difference in the application we use.  I'm not from a C# background, I'm a DBA.  I've been using SQL Profiler on the inhouse application that was created and notice that it opens and closes a connection to SQL Server for every task.  I thought connection pooling is enabled by default.

I went to the Microsoft page about connection pooling (http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/8xx3tyca.aspx).  I copied the example into a new C# project.  I created a simple Windows Forms application with a button on it, when clicked it runs the following code...

using (SqlConnection connection = new SqlConnection("Integrated Security=SSPI;Initial Catalog=Database1"))

{

connection.Open();

// Pool A is created.

}

using (SqlConnection connection = new SqlConnection("Integrated Security=SSPI;Initial Catalog=Database2"))

{

connection.Open();

// Pool B is created because the connection strings differ.

}

using (SqlConnection connection = new SqlConnection("Integrated Security=SSPI;Initial Catalog=Database1"))

{

connection.Open();

// The connection string matches pool A.

}

That's fine, when I run profiler it only makes two login events in SQL Server Profiler no mater how many times I click the button to run the above code.  However when I put the following code in there to actually return data...

{

SqlCommand myCommand = connection.CreateCommand();

myCommand.CommandType = System.Data.CommandType.Text;

myCommand.CommandText = "SELECT * FROM dbo.activities";

connection.Open();

myCommand.ExecuteReader();

myCommand.Dispose();

// Pool A is created.

}

using (SqlConnection connection = new SqlConnection("Integrated Security=SSPI;Initial Catalog=Database2"))

{

connection.Open();

// Pool B is created because the connection strings differ.

}

{

connection.Open();