none
How can I add an existing solution to a new Git repository?

Question

• I've installed VS2012 Update 2 CTP 2 and have connected to my TFS repository at VisualStudio.com but I'm a little stumped in step 2 here:

http://tfs.visualstudio.com/en-us/learn/code/publish-new-team-project-vs-git/

The Publish to {Repo Name} option isn't available to me.

I have a Solution file, and I have a repository - but I'm trying to figure out how to add the contents of my solution to the repo.

I know Git support is new (and I'm probably overlooking some obvious thing), but hopefully someone else has figured it out. I'm kind of new to Git - but I've used TFS, SVN, and VSS extensively. It's always seemed pretty intuitive to add files to source control.

"We're all in it together, kid." - Harry Tuttle, Heating Engineer

• Edited by Bleak Morn Wednesday, February 06, 2013 8:08 PM
    Wednesday, February 06, 2013 8:07 PM

Answers

• If your solution is already within the Git repo directory on disk, you should be able to right click the solution and choose the 'Add to Source Control' command to get that solution into the repo.  If the solution is currently outside the repo directory, you'll need to move it.

The 'Publish to {TeamProjectName}' command is only visible if several criteria are met:

1. You are connected to a TFS team project that uses Git for source control.  That project will be bolded in the Team Explorer Connect page.

2. You do not already have a local cloned repo that for that team project.  In other words, there's not already a repo in the list that has the origin remote pointing to the current team project.  If you have a cloned repo, then the publish is more than likely to fail since the remote repo is probably not empty.