none
Process Templates for Non-Development Projects?

General discussion

• Hello,

I'm a consultant for a government agency. The IT dept is around 30 people, and the skill level is a bit low. Projects were managed using Excel (and there were not very good in that!)

I decided to introduce TFS 2012 to track projects and help improve Agile practices.

The problem is: some of the IT dept in government is not about Software development! Procurement projects, for example, is common.. 

I've 2 options:

a: Introduce MS Project Server as well.. Pros: The right tool to be used for all projects.. Cons: Too big for our small team, and it yet another tool to be introduced and taught for the team! 

b: Use TFS as a project management tool: I might need to do some customisation and create my own process template that list projects and tasks.. and provide nice reports.. Pros: One software fits all (add to that: help desk in TFS), easier to maintain (one server for all projects needs), easier to teach one system rather than two.. Cons: customisation is time consuming..! 

So: Any suggestions? and I you came across any process templates for generic IT project management, please share :)

Thanks,

• Changed type walrashoud Thursday, March 21, 2013 12:30 PM
    Wednesday, March 20, 2013 2:18 AM

All replies

• Hi Walrashoud, 

Thanks for your post.

I’m not familiar with MS Project Server, but if you occurred any issue when using TFS 2012 Server, you can post it here, our members and I will try our best to help you.

And I think we should change this post type to Discussion. Can I help you to change it?

John Qiao [MSFT]
    MSDN Community Support | Feedback to us
    Develop and promote your apps in Windows Store
    Please remember to mark the replies as answers if they help and unmark them if they provide no help.

Thursday, March 21, 2013 6:22 AM
  • Hi John,

Thanks.. Sure changing this to discussion is great :)