none
Passing an exception object to a WCF service

Question

• Hi,

I'm pretty new to WCF , as an experiment I was trying to create a WCF service wrapper over an exception handler class which is using the enterprise library underneath.

I created a simple class with one exception variable, which gets exposed as the data contract

when I try to pass the exception to the WCF service I get the following serialzation error

There was an error while trying to serialize parameter http://tempuri.org/:ex. The InnerException message was 'Type 'System.Collections.ListDictionaryInternal' with data contract name 'ArrayOfKeyValueOfanyTypeanyType:http://schemas.microsoft.com/2003/10/Serialization/Arrays' is not expected. Add any types not known statically to the list of known types - for example, by using the KnownTypeAttribute attribute or by adding them to the list of known types passed to DataContractSerializer.'.  Please see InnerException for more details.

I configured the app.config for the calling application by adding Syste.Exception as known type in the DataContractSerializer

<system.runtime.serialization>
        <dataContractSerializer>
          <declaredTypes>
            <add type="System.Exception, mscorlib, Version=2.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=b77a5c561934e089">
              <knownType type="System.Exception, mscorlib, Version=2.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=b77a5c561934e089">           
              </knownType>
            </add>
          </declaredTypes>
        </dataContractSerializer>
      </system.runtime.serialization>

this didnt seem to work either, still getting the same error. Can any one please shed some light on this ?
    Monday, January 21, 2008 6:21 AM

Answers

•  

Have you tried XML Serialization as opposed to DataContract serialization?  See http://msdn2.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms732038.aspx.   Exception is XML serializable and should be serializable in that way.