none
VB.NET Query database from a combo-box?

Question

• Hi all,

I'm new to programming.

PROBLEM: I want to only show specific database records based on serveral combo-box inputs from a user.

I'm looking to query an Access database from within a form I've created for viewing simple Jpegs of CAD files and pointcloud data.

I've never worked with table adapters, SQL statements, or much in the way of databases before and I'm lost.

• Do I add a new query and do what I want from a configuration wizard somehow? That method gave me a toolstrip button with no combo-box.
    • Should the combo-box be bound to the table or should it stand alone?
    • Can this be done without the use of a wizard (purely in an event)

I've been told what I'm looking to do is rather simple, I'm just unable to find syntax that has worked for me.

Any help is appreciated,

cdebruin

Tuesday, May 29, 2012 3:57 PM

Answers

• One method would be to load ComboBox controls with distinct values for specific columns from the database table you want to query against then have the user select from these ComboBox controls and build a SQL statement. The example below is simple, provide distinct values for two columns in a table in the form load event. In the Button1 click event we check the user selections and build a SQL statement followed by executing the statement against the backend database. Granted there are many different ideas on how to append parts to the select statement in regards to the WHERE clause, this is one. In the end a DataGridView displays the data from out select statement.

Public Class Form1
        Private Builder As New OleDb.OleDbConnectionStringBuilder With
            {
                .Provider = "Microsoft.ACE.OLEDB.12.0",
                .DataSource = IO.Path.Combine(Application.StartupPath, "Database1.accdb")
            }
        Private Sub Form1_Load(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles MyBase.Load