none
An unhandled exception of type 'System.InvalidCastException' occurred in Microsoft.VisualBasic.dll

Question

• I'm a beginner to Visual Basic. In here I want to recreate a piggy bank which tells me how much money do I have.  I created a function but the program tells me :

An unhandled exception of type 'System.InvalidCastException' occurred in Microsoft.VisualBasic.dll

Additional information: Conversion from string "" to type 'Integer' is not valid.

I've been working on this for a few hours.  I hope you can help me.

Code:

Public Class Form1

Public Function calcular(ByVal pesetas As Integer, ByVal dimes As Integer, ByVal vellones As Integer, ByVal centavos As Integer) As Double
            Dim total_calcular As Double
            total_calcular = (pesetas * 0.25 + dimes * 0.1 + vellones * 0.05 + centavos * 0.01)

MsgBox("Usted tiene: " & FormatCurrency(total_calcular, 2),
    MsgBoxStyle.Information)

Return total_calcular

End Function
        Private Sub Button1_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles Button1.Click
            Dim pesetas As String
            Dim dimes As String
            Dim vellones As Object
            Dim centavos As Object

If (pesetas1.Text.Length = 0) Then
                MsgBox("Tiene que llenar la casilla de las pesetas", MsgBoxStyle.Exclamation, )
                pesetas1.Focus()
            End If

If Not IsNumeric(pesetas1.Text) Then
                pesetas1.Text = ""
                MsgBox("Solo acepta formato en números", MsgBoxStyle.Exclamation, )
            End If

If (dimes1.Text.Length = 0) Then
                MsgBox("Tiene que llenar la casilla de los dimes", MsgBoxStyle.Exclamation, )
                dimes1.Focus()
            End If

If Not IsNumeric(dimes1.Text) Then
                dimes1.Text = ""
            End If

If (vellones1.Text.Length = 0) Then
                MsgBox("Tiene que llenar la casilla de los vellones", MsgBoxStyle.Exclamation, )