none
Character spacing in TextBlock/TextElement

Question

• Is there a way to change the spacing between characters in a WPF text element?  Something like the CSS letter-spacing property?  Thanks!
    Wednesday, December 13, 2006 10:08 PM

Answers

• Ahhhh sorry, I read your description of the requirements too fast there.

It does seem that the letter-spacing aka kerning is pretty hidden away in the API. I am new to the typography area, but actually in the ongoing SDK I'll own some of the classes, so I better get familiar with this area fast :-)

Much of the API exposure for typography is based on working against OpenType. And most of the support for OpenType in markup is through setting various attached properties of the Typography class. However, the kerning aspect of OpenType is pretty well hidden away. You can make decisions about ligatures, but that doesn't help for arbitrary letter-spacing because the ligatures are only selectively placed into the font. There's a Kerning property of Typography, but it's true/false (not helpful, and I'm not even sure what it does). If you're actually designing an OpenType font, there's a whole kerning table that can be used to specify kerning combinations. But that's way too complicated for what you are after, and it's manipulating the entire font, not just layout-on-demand.

One way to handle what you want is to go in a different direction from the OpenType font support APIs, and instead to use a Glyphs object. See: http://msdn2.microsoft.com/en-us/library/system.windows.documents.glyphs.aspx

Glyphs has a XAML-settable property on it called Indices. Unfortunately, this property isn't well documented. The type of the property is String. What that property actually takes is a mini-language. The minilanguage uses ; to distinguish glyph separations, and , to separate pairs of chr and offset. If you leave the front of the comma pair blank, it just applies the offset to the 'space between'.

So, for example:

<Page