none
Drawing in OnRender() BeginnerQuestion

Question

•  

Hi,

I'm new to WPF and just can't figure out some things (which did work on windows forms)

I want to draw some FormattetText in the OnRender() -Mehod of my window, but I just see no Results?

How does this come and how can I se my text???

Code Block

protected override void OnRender(DrawingContext drawingContext)

{

base.OnRender(drawingContext);

string testString = "Hallo";

FormattedText formattedText = new FormattedText(

testString,

CultureInfo.CurrentCulture,

FlowDirection.LeftToRight,

new Typeface("Verdana"),

Brushes.Black);

formattedText.SetFontSize(36 * (96.0 / 72.0), 0, 5);

// Set a maximum width and height. If the text overflows these values, an ellipsis "..." appears.

formattedText.MaxTextWidth = 300;

formattedText.MaxTextHeight = 240;

// Draw the formatted text string to the DrawingContext of the control.

drawingContext.DrawText(formattedText, new Point(50,50));

}

This is just a copy from a MSDN Article but it does not work on my project, why?

Oh and I would like to be able to resize my text if the window resizes, is there some common and easy way to make this work?

Tuesday, January 08, 2008 3:00 PM

Answers

• I don't know why, but overriding OnRender does not work when the class is Window or derives from Window.  That's the only reason I can think of that this method wouldn't work.

Most commonly, only classes the derive from FrameworkElement override OnRender.  Most applications use pre-existing classes that derive from FrameworkElement rather than making their own.

Commonly, a class the overrides OnRender also overrides MeasureOverride to indicate the size the element wants to be.  The OnRender method can then use the RenderSize property to find out what actual size it's been given.  OnRender can then scale graphics to that size if it wants to.

Tuesday, January 08, 2008 6:18 PM

All replies