none
Losing Anti-Aliasing on a Rotated Border when DropShadowEffect Applied

Question

• Hello,

I am seeing something very odd.

I have a rotated (2 degrees) Border, stroked with a solid color and no fill. I have applied a drop shadow effect. The problem/odd thing is that the border is no longer anti-aliased! It is not smooth. I am using .NET 3.5 SP1 (obviously since I am using an effect and not a BitmapEffect).

What's weird is that if I go in and change the ShadowDepth in the VS 2008 designer, it all of a sudden anti-aliases the Border, but when I build it, it flashes back to the un-anti-aliased (and ugly) Border in both the running application and the VS 2008 designer.

What is even weirder is that my fellow developer doesn't see this behavior ... and he has SP1 of .NET 3.5 installed as well. I have installed the latest video drivers on my machine ... and that didn't help at all. I have a 3 monitor setup with an NVIDIA GeForce 7300GT for two monitors and a NVIDIA GeForce 6200 for my third monitor.

Does anyone have any ideas what is going on here?

Would love any ideas/thoughts,
    Cory

p.s.
    Here is the code:
    <Window 
        x:Class="TransformAntiAliasingTest.Window1" 
        xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/winfx/2006/xaml/presentation" 
        xmlns:x="http://schemas.microsoft.com/winfx/2006/xaml" 
        Title="Window1" 
        Width="700" 
        Height="500" 
    > 
        <Grid> 
            <Grid.RowDefinitions> 
                <RowDefinition Height="20" /> 
                <RowDefinition Height="*" /> 
                <RowDefinition Height="20" /> 
            </Grid.RowDefinitions> 
            <Grid.ColumnDefinitions> 
                <ColumnDefinition Width="20" /> 
                <ColumnDefinition Width="*" /> 
                <ColumnDefinition Width="20" /> 
            </Grid.ColumnDefinitions> 

<Border 
                BorderBrush="DarkGreen" 
                BorderThickness="5" 
                Grid.Row="1"