none
Displaying list of text in a TextBox

Question

• I'm a novice programmer and I have a very basic question.  I am trying to display text in a TextBox, with one caveat.  I need to be able to insert "carriage returns" or force the text onto a new line.  I am using the text box to display the results of a numbered list.  How can this be done?

As a work around I am using Word to display the results, but ideally the application needs to be able to display the results in a text box.

Thank you for any help you can provide.

Monday, March 06, 2006 3:18 PM

Answers

• vbCrLf works fine for me, what is the difference between the two ?

str = item1 & vbcrlf & item2 & vbcrlf

Monday, March 06, 2006 8:26 PM

All replies

• You can set the multiline attribute to true.
    Monday, March 06, 2006 3:27 PM
  • I've done that, but I need to some how force a new line after each list item.  Curruently I have a numbered list strung together.  I need each numbered item to appear on it's own line.  Each lsit item maybe 1 or more lines in length.  Any thoughts?
    Monday, March 06, 2006 3:54 PM
  • How do you convert your numbered list into a string ? You could of vbCrLf.
    Monday, March 06, 2006 4:00 PM
  • This trick has worked for me regarding Tooltips and I think that it can work with text boxes as well. You can use the "environment.NewLine" command to start a new line. You must string it together just as if it was a normal string.

Example:

Textbox.text = "This example will start a new line" & environment.NewLine & "NOW"

Monday, March 06, 2006 4:06 PM
  • I tried adding evironment.NewLine and I'm getting an error: 424 Run-time Error.  Object required.

I'm not much of a programmer.  Do I need to substitute an object for the word "environment" in the line of code you suggested?

Monday, March 06, 2006 6:19 PM
  • Check this out:

http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/default.asp?url=/library/en-us/cpref/html/frlrfsystemenvironmentclassnewlinetopic.asp