none
Wait for BackgroundWorker to complete

Question

• I have a function that returns a calculated value. Because the calculation can be very long I execute it through an BackgroundWorker. But now I have a problem, how do I, in the function, wait for the BackgroundWorker to complete? If I do this it freezes:

while (backgroundWorkerReadData.IsBusy)
        Thread.Sleep(50);

Maybe some code to wait for the RunWorkerComplete event to be triggered?
    Friday, May 01, 2009 2:28 PM

Answers

• My problem is that I want to wait for the BackgroundWorker to be finished before I return the value, but that while block I wrote doesnt seem to work. So is there any other way? Im still a bit new to threading, but I'm willing to learn.
    I suppose the question to ask yourself here is why do you want to wait until the background worker is completed before you return your value.  In other words, "What am I going to do with the data that is returned?"  If you want to use the data that is returned to output something on the screen, then you can still use the RunWorkerCompleted event handler.  Just before ending your DoWork method, assign the "e.Result" value.  When the method terminates, the RunWorkerCompleted event handler will run.  When it does, cast the e.Result value that comes into the RunWorkerCompleted event handler to whatever type you want to use, and then update your UI. 

My guess is that you're calling ReadData() from another method, and then you're using the result of that ReadData() method to bind something to the UI.  Take all the code below your call to ReadData() and place it in your RunWorkerCompleted event handler.  Change the method type of ReadData() to a void, and return nothing.  Remove the while loop.  At the top of the event handler for RunWorkerCompleted, cast e.Result to whatever type it needs to be and make a local variable of type double[][].  In that method do what you would do after returning from ReadData().