none
How to implement these in my VB calculator?

Question

• I have made a calculator in Visual Basic 2010 (VS 2010 Ultimate). Can anyone help me in the following areas? I would greatly appreciate it.

1. Implementing type functionality without letting the user type unwanted characters
    2. Making the cursor not visible in the text box (which is read-only)
    3. Negative and decimal factorials
    4. The "slide" functionality like in Windows 7 or XP calculators (when you press Scientific, Programmer, etc. modes, the window slides to accomodate them)
    5. Creating a basic help file (I am very new to web programming)

Thanks,

Rahul Yedida

• Moved by Annabella Luo Wednesday, May 02, 2012 7:57 AM (From:Windows Presentation Foundation (WPF))
    Monday, April 30, 2012 3:50 PM

Answers

• Hi Rahul. Sorry, my code is in C#, but it will not be too difficult to change to VB.NET. For point number 1, I want to make the following suggestion. This is code I used to validate if the value is numeric on a Windows Form: 

private void ValidateNumeric(object sender, KeyPressEventArgs e)
    {            
        if (!(IsNumeric(e.KeyChar)))
            e.Handled = true;
    } 

If the value typed in by the user is not numeric, the key will not register a value in the textbox. In other words, nothing will happen if the user types a non numeric value. There are however exceptions such as a period and a backspace for instance. These are catered for in the IsNumeric function. The IsNumeric function code is as follows:

public static bool IsNumeric(object KeyPressed)
    {
        // Variable to collect the Return value of the TryParse method.
        bool isNum;

// Define variable to collect out parameter of the TryParse method. If the conversion fails, the out parameter is zero.
        double retNum;

// The TryParse method converts a string in a specified style and culture-specific format to its double-precision floating point number equivalent.