none
Bitwise operators

Question

•     I am really new to C# and am still learning its many idiosyncrasies.  While learning how to code for the RichTextbox control (I'm reading the book "Beginning Visual C# 2005" from Wrox Press, I ran across this piece of code that has me rather stumped.  I know it works but I don't have any idea how it works.  After reading about bitwise operators it got me even more confused.

The code checks the selected text and changes the FontStyle to Bold if the style is Regular or vice versa if the style is Bold.

Can anyone please tell me what the bitwise And and the bitwise Or are doing?

I know there are "cleaner" and easier understood ways of codeing this but this is really holding my attention!

private void buttonBold_Click ( object sender, EventArgs e )
    {

Font oldFont;

Font newFont;

//* retrieve the font currently being used

oldFont = this.richtextboxText.SelectionFont;

//* if the font is using the bold style now, remove the formatting

if ( oldFont.Bold )
        {

//* the tilde performs a bitwise complement on the operand, in this

//* case FontStyle, effectivly setting it to non-bold

newFont = new Font ( oldFont, oldFont.Style & ~FontStyle.Bold );    <==== What is the bitwise And doing?
        }

else

{

newFont = new Font ( oldFont, oldFont.Style | FontStyle.Bold );       <==== What is the bitwise Or doing?
        }

//* insert the new font and return focus to the RTB

this.richtextboxText.SelectionFont = newFont;

this.richtextboxText.Focus ( );
        }

Tuesday, June 06, 2006 4:59 PM

Answers

• >newFont = new Font ( oldFont, oldFont.Style & ~FontStyle.Bold );    <==== What is the bitwise And doing?

The oldFont object has a Style property which is an enum that has an Int32 value.  FontStyle.Bold is a specific item of the enumeration and it's value is 1.