none
Printing to "Fit to Printable Area" and to "Fit to Margins"

Question

•  

I have a grid control in which I have placed some text, drawings, and images in it using XML. 

Now, I wanted to print everything I placed in the grid (which are what I'm seeing on the window I have created) to fit to the page's printable area and/or to the margins I have set for the media. Can anybody help me on how could this be done? I'm actually new to WPF and C# so, pardon me if my question seem a little vague or unclear. All helps would be very much appreciated.

Thursday, November 08, 2007 1:42 AM

Answers

• Ahhh -- let me suggest another approach.

If you want to print a Grid that's already on the screen, you probably don't want to mess around with the size of the Grid when you're printing the Grid because the size will also change on the screen.

Instead, try this approach, which creates a VisualBrush based on the Grid:

When you're ready to print, create a Rectangle and set its Width and Height properties to the size you want to print.  (Remember, 96 units to the inch, so the Width will be something like 624 and the Height 864 to print on 8.5 x 11" paper with 1-inch margins.)  Create a VisualBrush based on the displayed Grid and set it to the Fill property of the Rectangle.  Now call Measure on the Rectangle using an infinite size.  Get the DesiredSize of the Rectangle.  Call Arrange on the Rectangle based on the Point where the upper-left corner is to be displayed on the page -- something like (96, 96) depending on the margins you want -- and the DesiredSize.  Now you can pass the Rectangle object to PrintVisual.

Thursday, November 08, 2007 1:58 PM

All replies

• This blog entry might help you get started:

http://www.charlespetzold.com/blog/2006/02/230940.html

Thursday, November 08, 2007 2:41 AM
  • Wow! I'm so honored that the author of the book I'm reading is the one answering my concern.