none
What's the best book describes Algorithms for beginners?

Question

• Hi,

I'm new to C/C++ languages, I was a .NET developer. I study computer programming myself, I'm not a computer science/engineering student.

Because I was studying .NET, everything was easy, lists, searches, anything. After I started C/C++ development, it becomes very difficult to implement advanced searches, lists, and other things related to algorithms.

I got the book "Introduction to Algorithms" and started reading it but I found it very difficult since I haven't ever read about Algorithms (just short pages of other books.)

Anyone knows a book that discusses Algorithms in C in a very simple way? I need the author to treat me as an idiot or someone haven't ever read about programming or computers at all.

Thank you in advance.

From a technology evangelist born in 1991 in Egypt, http://JustLikeAMagic.WordPress.com
    Thursday, July 08, 2010 8:58 AM

Answers

• std::vector<> is a 'list' in the .NET sense. std::list<> is a 'list' in the C sense. std::map<> and std::set<> are trees. All are part of the STL, and all are covered in the books I suggested. I'm not clear on what you're looking for if these don't qualify.

If you're asking about data structure and algorithm theory, so you can write your own rather than use the ones that come with the standard library (which is a bad idea 99% of the time), the best book in my opinion is Algorithms in C++. Data Structures and Algorithms is also excellent, but not C++ specific.

Thursday, July 08, 2010 11:19 AM

All replies

• If you're willing to buy a book, The C++ Standard Library: A Tutorial and Reference is the usual recommendation. If you want a free book, the author of Thinking in C++ has made the book available for free. Volume two covers algorithms, if I remember correctly.

Thursday, July 08, 2010 9:02 AM