[OTP] vb6 - how can i measure an elapsed time in milliseconds?

Question

• hi, im a hischool student and i'm doing my project for graduation in visual basic. The program is about a way to measure the reaction time. I want to measure that in milliseconds, but I was only able to measure the elapsed time in seconds. How can I measure the elapsed time in seconds!

a lot of thanx

rorro

Tuesday, August 15, 2006 5:13 AM

Answers

• DateTime is a synonym for the VB Date Datatype. There are the same and interchangible. However, for .NET 2005 (VB 2005) using the System.Diagnostics.Stopwatch structure would yield higher resolution timing than the Date type.

With regards to types not being defined you must ensure that the type you're using is qualified and/or in-scope. Technically both DateTime and Timespan are defined in the System namespace. Typically this namespace is imported by default but if for whatever reason it isn't you may fully qualify the type names as System.DateTime and System.Timespan. If for whatever reason you have some namespace also named System in your project you can further qualify them as Global.System.DateTime and Global.System.Timespan.

However, Date is a language keyword that evaluates the same ast the DateTime structure and is always in scope so you should use it when convenient. Regardless I still highly recommend the Stopwatch if you're using .NET 2.0 as it was made for this type of thing.

Wednesday, August 16, 2006 12:14 AM
  • These forums are for VB.NET and there are better places to find answers for older versions of VB. Maybe the

VB6 newgroups - http://msdn.microsoft.com/newsgroups/default.aspx?dg=microsoft.public.vb.general.discussion&lang=en&cr=US

Or perhaps the VB6 resource center
    http://msdn.microsoft.com/vbrun/

or  perhaps www.vbcity.com may be useful places to search for answers on VB6 related questions.

Hopefully this helps.

Friday, August 18, 2006 12:13 AM

All replies

• The following should get you started: