none
Visual C++ Projects refuses to compile without looking for irrelevant files.

Question

• Hi!

I'm quite new to using SDK's in general.

I have recently used SDL in a project, and have included files called 'SDL.lib' and 'SDLmain.lib' into my additional dependencies in my environment. 

However, now, when I try to compile ANY other project, I will get this error:

[quote]

1>------ Build started: Project: Test, Configuration: Debug Win32 ------
    1>  SDLmain.lib
    1>c1xx : fatal error C1083: Cannot open source file: 'SDLmain.lib': No such file or directory
    1>  SDL.lib
    1>c1xx : fatal error C1083: Cannot open source file: 'SDL.lib': No such file or directory
    1>  main.cpp
    1>  Generating Code...
    ========== Build: 0 succeeded, 1 failed, 0 up-to-date, 0 skipped ==========

[/quote]

Looking through past questions, it appears that the problem is usually caused by files being missing or relocated. My problem is that I don't want 'SDL.lib' or 'SDLmain.lib' in my project as they are completely irrelevant. I have tried to remove them, but to no avail.

This problem occurs for new projects, old projects, empty projects, even untouched sample projects from other SDK's.

Here is a link to the detailed build output (CodePaste.net)

I have tried:

• Looking thoroughly in project's properties for dependencies and clearing library directories
    • Excluding all files from the project except main.cpp which contains:
    #include <iostream>
    using namespace std;

int main(){
        cout<<"Hello world\n";
        return 0;
    }

• Resetting environment settings using 

[quote] Devenv.exe /ResetSettings [/quote]

• Reinstalling Visual Studio 2010 and anything with 'Visual C++ 2010' in it that can be found under 'Programs and Features'.
    • Deleting the default 'Visual Studio 2010' folder in documents

I'll be happy to post more information. Any help would be apreciated! :D

Yujin Wu

Tuesday, May 22, 2012 8:04 AM

Answers