none
How I open Excel add-in in Visual Studio 2010?

Question

• I have an add-in that need to add more functionality in it. I decided to use Visual Studio instead of using the VB editor in Excel. When opening the add-in in visual studio, I don’t get as a source code as it is when it is opened by Vb in Excel, and even adding it as a reference, VS does not recognize it. I am a beginner not professional.

Thanks

Thursday, April 07, 2011 2:14 AM

Answers

• Hi zayouna

<<Thanks, and sorry for make it long>>

Long isn't a problem, if it helps understanding :-)

So, if I compare the two screen shots, it seems to me that you're trying to put the UserForm (old VBA interface) into the Ribbon? And essentially, you want to execute the VBA code behind the UserForm from a Ribbon button?

If that's the case, the first thing you'll need to do is analyse how the VBA solution is constructed. By that I mean, where all the parts of the code are. VBA programmers follow one of two basic "models": all the code is in the Code-behind-the-form, or only "stubs" are in the code-behind-the-form but the "real code" is in a plain module (or a class module).

If the VBA solution was constructed with all the code in the code-behind-the-form, then you're going to need to do some re-design. You'll need to put all that code in regular modules, so that the procedures will be visible to the Application.Run method. This will probably involve more than just copy/paste as you'll also need to allow for values coming from the UserForm controls. In these cases, you'll need to add parameters to pass in the values from your Ribbon interface.

I get the impression from your problem description that many things in the VBA code are repeated. If that's the case, then this would also be the opportunity to consolidate such procedures, or break out repeated code into separate procedures that can be re-used.

Cindy Meister, VSTO/Word MVP
    Friday, April 08, 2011 10:08 AM

All replies

• Hi Zayouna