none
How to get last file modified date time of a remote file

Question

• Hi All,

I am a newbie of FTP. I am using VC6 in XP.  I want to download a file from FTP server. And set the
    file date time equals the one in the server. But I cannot get the correct
    file status of remote file. It return zero in file status.

Please help.
    BR

Below is my code :

CInternetFile *pInetFile=NULL;

CFileStatus   FileStatus;

pSession = new CInternetSession();

try
    {    pFTP = pSession->GetFtpConnection("ftp_web_site",
            "username","password",INTERNET_INVALID_PORT_NUMBER);

}

catch(CInternetException *pEx)

{    pEx->ReportError(MB_ICONEXCLAMATION);    pFTP = NULL;
         pEx->Delete();    return;

}

// download file

m_pFtpConnection->GetFile("myfile", cLocalPathname,
        TRUE,FILE_ATTRIBUTE_NORMAL,FTP_TRANSFER_TYPE_BINARY,1);

pInetFile = pFTP->OpenFile("myfile");

pInetFile->GetStatus(FileStatus);   // <= error in file status, all zero

Thursday, August 26, 2010 1:53 AM

Answers

• OK, thanks for confirming that.  I notice that GetStatus() is a member of CFile rather than the CInternetFile class, which derives from CFile.

I also notice that CFtpConnection::OpenFile says:

After calling OpenFile and until calling CInternetConnection::Close, the application can only call CInternetFile::Read, CInternetFile::Write, CInternetConnection::Close, or CFtpFileFind::FindFile. Calls to other FTP functions for the same FTP session will fail and set the error code to FTP_ETRANSFER_IN_PROGRESS.

CFile::GetStatus() is not an FTP function, but you are trying to use it as one (you want the status of the remote file).  I suspect that what's happening is that the CFile data in the object is being treated as the local version of the file, which (because you have not yet read anything from the remote file) is empty and therefore has zero length.

Perhaps what you really need is the CFtpFileFind class together with its CFileFind::GetLength base member.