none
Update Sql table from another Sql table

Question

• Hello, I am very new to programming, so sorry for asking what may seem like simple questions.

I have 2 SQL tables. The first one contains data that is gathered through an automated process. It looks like this.

The Destination table looks like this.

I am looking for ideas on how to do this. I would prefer to match it up by serial number, but it really needs to give options or multiple choices. The computer names in the destination are mostly wrong and the serial numbers may or may not be complete. There are also duplicates in the destination database.

I have another table that list Store ID's and IP addresses at each store. I would like to update the Store ID in the destination based on that data as well.

If anyone has any idea on this, I would love to hear them.

Thank you.

Sunday, October 23, 2011 6:18 AM

Answers

• Hello dc Dudley,

I don't see any related key in your two tables, that makes an automated process very difficult. 

You really should have an related identifier to make an automatic process possible. 

If you have one then it is quite simple. 

Create two (new) datatables

Fill the first with the data from the first database table with the identifier as where clause in your select statement

Fill the second with the data from the second database table with the same identifier (if it not exist it creates an empty datatable)

If there is no row in the second one, than add a new row.

Set the properties of that second datatable. With a simple loop and investigating the columnname in the first one.

Update the second datatable.

Success
    Cor
    Tuesday, October 25, 2011 6:00 AM

All replies

• In the way I read it, are you creating redundancy, one of the first thing you have to learn using databases. 

Look at this page on Wikipedia about normalization.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Database_normalization