none
sliders in xaml

Question

• hi all,

i am new to wpf and was hoping someone could point me in the right direction

i understand that a generic slider is built in but what if i want to modify it?  i know that you need to adjust the style for it.

1) where is the style code for a slider?

2) how do i know which attributes i need to change?  for example, i want to change the 'slider' (default is a rectangle) to a circle? 

so its like  -------O-------  instead of  --------[]------- what do i need to modify for the slider?

thanks alot for the help :)
    Wednesday, February 04, 2009 6:35 AM

Answers

• EDIT: I see now that the simpleslider was an ellipse to start with, and I changed it to a rectangle, you wanted it the other way around, but I hope you get the point

I'm sure there are many different approaches, here is one:
    To change parts of the slider you need to change the controltemplate (the visuals of the slider).
     I usually start from the Simple xxxx -parts from Blend instead of the standard, if you add a simple Slider in Blend, and look at the resources, Blen has added a resourcedictionary SimpleStyles.XAML (there are a lot of tools for looking at templates, but I find SimpleStyles to be easier to read). The slider you added will be styled as:
    <Slider  Style="{DynamicResource SimpleSlider}"/>

So by looking for the SimpleSlider resource: (you cant use it directly, because its referencing some otheer simple resources)
    <!--Simple Simple Slider  
        Similiar to ScrollBar this template uses Track to layout the draggable Thumb which has an up and down repeat button  
        It uses Simple SliderThumb and SimpleScrollRepeatButtonStyle for the page up and down repeat buttons --> 
        <Style x:Key="SimpleSlider" TargetType="{x:Type Slider}">  
            <Setter Property="Background" Value="{DynamicResource LightBrush}"/>  
            <Setter Property="BorderBrush" Value="{DynamicResource NormalBorderBrush}"/>