none
How To: Create Custom Client and Service Credentials

Question

• I read this article on MSDN, but it doesn't describe how you consume a custom ClientCredentials on the service side. I'm fairly new to WFC and am looking to create a custom ClientCredentials class that includes additional meta information about the user that can be used to determine what authority they have to perform a particular function within the service.

Maybe a custom ClientCredentials class isn't the correct way to do this but I would like to make it as easy as possible for the client side of my services to just instantiate the client proxy and have it use my custom ClientCredentials so that on the service side that meta information will be available to make certain decisions about how to process the request.

The article I am referencing is: http://msdn2.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms730868.aspx

Tuesday, January 16, 2007 11:17 PM

Answers

• So my end solution was nothing related to custom client or service credentials. I ended up using IContractBehavior to add a IClientMessageMessageInspector that adds the meta information to the headers.

I did this so that if the client is using this WCF code it'll automatically attach the meta information, else they are going to have to spoof it but since I'll only allow Windows integrated authentication to these services, I'll be able to know which application is trying to bypass the metadata collection ... about the device.

Wednesday, January 17, 2007 6:26 PM

All replies

• Hello:
    1) Typically, a custom ClientCredentials is used to provide new types of security tokens to secure the messages sent by the client to the service or to change the way the tokens are obtained.

2) Regarding the additional meta-information, who will be the issuer of this information? If it is a third-party, then you should use an issued token scenario:
        2.1 Create an STS (Security Token Service) associated with the entity that creates the meta-information.