none
_M_IX86 & _M_AMD64

Question

• I noticed that Visual Studio asserts _M_IX86 but when I am building for x64 the _M_AMD64 is not asserted. Do I need to manually #define this to activate the machine architecture? I would have thought the x64 build settings would have automatically set these switches.

I have #defines for several candidate processors. I simply was wondering what is wrong with VS 2008 now.

#if (defined (_M_ALPHA) && !defined(NT_INTEREX))

#elif (defined (_M_IX86) && !defined(NT_INTEREX))

#elif ((defined (_M_IA64) || defined(_M_AMD64)) && !defined(NT_INTEREX))

I am a professional developer and I am registered with Microsoft Connect. I am also a vegan. Economics and chess are two of my many interests.
    Sunday, March 15, 2009 3:58 PM

Answers

• Hi Vegan,

I have tried to use Build->Configuration Manager->Active solution platform->new a platform:x64 as the document I have given you in last thread say. And add the following sinppet in my test application:

#ifdef _M_AMD64  
         printf("AMD64");

// My x64 code here  

#elif defined (_M_IX86)  
         printf("IX86");

// My x86 code here  

#else

#error !!! Need to write code for this architecture  

#endif 

It will output "AMD64" when running on real x64 platform but it will output the "IX86" on x86 platform even you set the x64 using configuation manager. I think it might be the reason. I'd like to suggest you to test your application on x64 platform.

If you still have any problem, please feel free to tell me.

Hope this helps,
    Nancy

Please remember to click “Mark as Answer” on the post that helps you, and to click “Unmark as Answer” if a marked post does not actually answer your question. This can be beneficial to other community members reading the thread.
    • Marked as answer by Nancy Shao Friday, March 20, 2009 9:04 AM
    Wednesday, March 18, 2009 2:23 PM

All replies

• Hi Vegan,