none
Visual Basic 2010 and Microsoft Access

Question

• Hello everyone, I am new to programming databases and I am having some trouble.

I am writing a program that stores information about users such as "Username", "First Name", "Last Name", "Points", and "Last Visited".  I created the database with the appropriate columns in access.  I then imported this database into visual basic and I now have a form that can save, delete, add, modify, and navigate through the users with arrows.  Note that this form has text boxes, labels, option buttons, etc. and is NOT a table view.  

Here is what I need help with:

First, I would like to add a text box search field to this form (because navigating through several thousand users with arrows isn't going to work).  When the search button is pressed, I want the username to be looked for.  If found, the form (and each textbox, option button, etc.) is updated with that user.  I can then modify the user's information and press save.

Second, how do I access and change information in a database with only code? For example, if I periodically want to check every user in the database to see if they have over "100 points" and if they do, I subtract 10 points from that user.

Thanks,

-Douglas

Tuesday, June 15, 2010 4:32 AM

Answers

All replies

• Doogh,

Make it the first time easy for you.

Start with a new VB project, you can always use your old project later, but you did it already so it takes a few minutes to redo the old one.

Go to the Data tab -> Add new DataBase ->  DataBase -> DataSet -> new connection and select your database.

Select what you need from that and select the columns. When you are ready do Configurate, all your update statements are made (check if you have a primary key otherwise it goes wrong)

Now select from the toolbox a BindingNavigator and a BindingSource

In the properties of the Bindingsource at the property DataSource you select the datasource you have created with its table.