none
The name 'InitializeComponent' does not exist....

Question

• I'm trying to create a UserControl in a Class Library and it all works just fine. I can see everything in designer, but when I'm trying to build my solution I get the following error.

The name 'InitializeComponent' does not exist in the current context

And that's it, as it says I don't have that method in my .cs codebehind file. But the thing is when I create a UserControl in a WinFX Windows Application I can build it just fine, so i must be missing something. I tried removing the method call and that let me build it, but when creating a new instance and adding it to my Grid nothing happend. 

Any idea what I'm doing wrong.

I am somewhat new to the .NET platform ( great idea jumping on the .NET 3.0 wagon then huh  ) But I would really like some help on this issue, because I do not have the slightest idea where to go from here.

Tuesday, September 12, 2006 8:06 PM

Answers

• Thank's Rob, but it didn't seem to help, everything was set up as you said.

I cruised a bit more around and stumbled over this

http://blogs.msdn.com/mhendersblog/archive/2005/10/03/476536.aspx ( something about hosting WPF in WinForms, quite clever actually  )

I't seems that when creating a DLL project (as with WinForms) Visual Studio can't handle "WPF/WinFX file types", so all I had to do was add <Import Project="$(MSBuildBinPath)\Microsoft.WinFX.targets" /> in my .csproj file.

Now it works like a charm

PS. thank's for keeping us up to date on the RC1 and Sept. CTP releases

Tuesday, September 12, 2006 9:41 PM

All replies

• The initializeComponent routine is created in the .g.cs file that is created during build.  (see obj\debug\...)

Make sure your XAML file has a build action of "Page" to create that file.

Also, make sure that the partial classes in .xaml.cs and .g.cs match.

Hope that helps.

Thanks, Rob Relyea
    WPF Team
    http://rrelyea.spaces.live.com