none
IT Asset Tracking System Objects

Question

• I am fairly new to object oriented programming. I have developed a few usercontrols for an IT Asset Tracking System that I am developing but I need some good advice on the coding side of things as I am using VB 2005 Professional.

What kind of classes and objects do I need to create for my system within VB 2005. So far as an example, I have the following tables in my SQL Server 2005 express database as I am fine with the db side of things:

OperatingSystem - Lookup table for operating systems

HardDrive - Lookup table for hard drive sizes

CPUSpeed - Lookup table for CPUSPeed

MemorySize - Lookup table for System memory

WarrantyCompany - Lookup table for warranty companies

ProductListing - List of products to add to purchase orders

AssetDetails - Full details of asset such as PC, Server, Printer etc. Will have an AssetID as PK and the lookup tables as FK

AssetCategory - Whether it is Computer, Printer etc

AssetType - If computer, is it Desktop PC, Notebook or Server. If Printer, is it Laser, Dot Matrix etc

PurchaseOrders - To store purchase order details

If someone can advise me in the right direction then this would be a great help.

Thursday, June 15, 2006 11:08 AM

All replies

• Why not create objects (classes) which match your physical objects?

For example, you can have an AssetObject which has an ID Number.

Then you may have a ComputerObject which inherits from the AssetObject which has OS, HDD, CPU, etc.

The PrinterObject, once again Inheriting from the AssetObject, has a PrinterType, etc.

you could have a Dictionary or list of AssetObjects.

This is just a suggestion for a starting point - you may want to think about anything that may happen in the future which may 'break' the structure you implement.

Thursday, June 15, 2006 12:32 PM
  • Thanks for your reply. I know that you have assisted me on other issues before.