none
Catching Global Exceptions in Package

Question

• Hi, I am pretty sure this is a newbie question (as I am a newbie at VSExtensibility :D) but didnt found information on the forum yet.

Is there any way I can catch all the exceptions that happen inside my Package, because currently any exception that I throw kills Visual Studio.

Thanks in advance,
    Federico

Friday, March 26, 2010 8:42 PM

Answers

• Hi Federico,

There is no way to set up a global handler for all exceptions from a package. In part this is because there's no good answer for the question of "who wins?" if there are multiple such handlers registered.

Thanks,
    Aaron

http://blogs.msdn.com/aaronmar
    Monday, March 29, 2010 10:45 PM

All replies

• Hi Federico,

Where do you throw the exception? could you please give us an example?

As I know, we can handle the exception in VSPackage as normal program, don't try...catch fit your requirement?

Sincerely,
    Wesley

Please mark the replies as answers if they help and unmark them if they provide no help.
    Welcome to the All-In-One Code Framework! If you have any feedback, please tell us.
    Monday, March 29, 2010 6:10 AM
  • Hi Wesley,

What I want to do is to be able to handle those unhandled exceptions that do not have a matching try...catch inside my own code. Currently if I throw an exception and I do not catch it.

The example is the following:

"I have a bug somewhere that I couldnt replicate, lets say a NullReferenceException get thrown. The exception will bubble up until it hit the package itself. As there are no handlers for that NullReferenceException the exception gets passed to Visual Studio (as I understand)."

What would I need is to be able to handle those unhandled exceptions so that I can log them, send them to a centralized repository for further inspection.

Hope that helps,
    Federico

Monday, March 29, 2010 1:34 PM
  • Hi Federico,