none
How can I handle events in my XAMLX workflow?

Question

• I have a WCF Workflow Service which receives a request from a user, replies and then needs to make a call to WMI.  The fact that it uses WMI is not significant, other than that the WMI object uses events to communication progress and completion.  I'm still quite new to WF4.  What I'd like to have my workflow do is subscribe to the events, make the WMI call and then wait for one of the events.  Since the WMI call can take minutes to complete, it'd be ideal if the workflow could be persisted whilst it waits.  Is this possible and, if so, how?
    Friday, January 07, 2011 1:40 PM

Answers

• You could do this a couple of ways. You could write an Async activity to make the call and wait for the event in order to continue. That would probably be the easiest, but your workflow would not persist (workflows don't persist during an Async activity). The workflow would simply be held in memory until the async activity completed. However the workflow would not be hogging up the workflow thread (like it would if you were to write an activity with a long Thread.Sleep) so that is ok. It would be up to you to decide if remaining in memory for a few minutes is ok. If you wanted to follow that approach, then you can see the types of async activities that you can create here: Creating Asynchronous Activities.

If you wanted to workflow to persist while it was waiting for this event, then you could create a workflow extension that you could call from a custom NativeActivity that has a bookmark. this extension would make the call and then wait for the event, and then signal back to the workflow (by resuming the bookmark). I don't have any sample code handy for this approach, but could provide some if you are interested in this approach. Let me know and I will find or create some for you.

Thanks,

Steve Danielson [Microsoft]
    This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights.