none
Access resources via string?

Question

• Hello I'm a noob C# programmer so forgive me if I use the wrong terminology. 

I have little understanding of how resources work, but it's proving to be sort of a pain.  I am trying to load an image into a picture box via:

PictureBox1.Image = (System.Drawing.Image) WindowsControlLibrary2.Properties.Resources.Banana;

This works fine.  However I won't to be able to load an image based on a STRING... for example I was loading it this way before:

int someString \\(ie: "Cherry", "Kiwiw", etc.)
    PictureBox1.Image = System.Drawing.Image.FromFile("C:\\Projects\\BlackJack\\BlackJack\\Resources\\" + someString + ".png");

However I understand that this is a dangerous way in doing it and I want to do it the right way.

Can someone give me a hint on how this should be done?

Thank you

Monday, August 25, 2008 11:01 PM

Answers

• Try this:

public static Image GetImage(string name)  
            {  
                return (Image)typeof(WindowsControlLibrary2.Properties.Resources).GetProperty(name, System.Reflection.BindingFlags.Static | System.Reflection.BindingFlags.NonPublic).GetValue(nullnull);  
            } 

David Morton - http://blog.davemorton.net/
    Tuesday, August 26, 2008 4:30 PM

All replies

•  If I understand you correctly you want to have a reference path shaped dynamically at runtime. There is nothing wrong with it. Relax and go ahead with clear conscience. You may be better of if you use StringBuilder class for that as well. A rather elegant way of doing things.
    AlexB
    Tuesday, August 26, 2008 2:00 AM
  • String builder class?  Well I'd rather do it dynamically... I mean if the path to the images change it could promise to be problematic... and to be honest I ran into the problem.  I built a project and sent it to someone and all the images were never included... and it keeps the path names so the project errored out.
    Tuesday, August 26, 2008 2:31 AM
  • Hi,