none
HTTP Error 404.3 - Error when try to browse a svc file

Question

•  

Hi,

I am running Vista 64 with Framework 3.5 SP1 and Visual Studio 2008 SP1 and IIS 7.0 installed and I am new in WCF.

Everything seemed to work OK until I tried to browse http://assetkit/AkServices/Service1.svc.

I have created in the host file an entry like this: 127.0.0.1 assetkit. Created a new website in IIS and published the service, using Visual Studio 2008 to this website.

This is a very simple service, in fact the service is the initial template for a WCF Service Application created by Visual Studio. After creating the WCF Application I have published it the application to IIS 7.0 to test the deployment.

When I try to browse the url above I receive the following error:

Module StaticFileModule
    Notification ExecuteRequestHandler
    Handler StaticFile
    Error Code 0x80070032

Requested URL http://assetkit:80/AkServices/Service1.svc
    Physical Path C:\inetpub\wwwroot\AssetKit\AkServices\Service1.svc
    Logon Method Anonymous
    Logon User Anonymous

It seemed to me that WCF is not installed because when I looked in the Mime Types list I could not find the svc extension. Some blogs tells me that I must run then command C:\Windows\Microsoft.NET\Framework\v3.0\Windows Communication Foundation>ServiceModelReg.exe -i but I do not the 3.0 directory and in directory 3.5 the file does not exists.

When I publish the service to a Virtual directory of the default sites I recei the error:

The page you are requesting cannot be served because of the extension configuration. If the page is a script, add a handler. If the file should be downloaded, add a MIME map.

Other Blogs tels me that the problem can be solved If a create the the mime type svc and add a handler, but I do not know the correct type string.

I do not know if this is a problem of Vista 64 or if the problem is associated with 3.2 SP1 ot VS 2008 SP1. The fact is that I cannot run my service after it is deployed.