none
list of open windows in c#

Question

• Hi, I'm new to C# so i'm wondering if there's any way i can get a list of all the currently open windows in the system. As an example, if i have a "windows explorer" and an "internet explorer" and two "notepad" windows open, i need to hide these open windows and later on unhide them, so i imagine first i need to get their list somehow and run through a loop to hide them. any help is much appreciated.
    Friday, December 04, 2009 5:15 AM

Answers

• A virtual desktop has nothing to do with C#. It's way too lower level and you need to operate too much with the OS (which requires invoking the platform functions). Just start off with an easy project, such as a simple calculator, or maybe a small game like Sudoku.
    Geert van Horrik - CatenaLogic
    Visit my blog: http://blog.catenalogic.com

Looking for a way to deploy your updates to all your clients? Try Updater!
    • Marked as answer by houman_ag Thursday, December 10, 2009 6:15 AM
    Wednesday, December 09, 2009 10:20 AM
  • Hi,

I suggest you find an existing desktop manager as this is a work for many-many hours. You can`t just hide them, you need to track window destroying and creation, show and hide, support every Windows version (for commercial app), etc. And that is all not on the .NET level but rather on the OS level as Geert van Horrik have stated. If you really want to do that, start deep learning of the OS internals and hooks instead of .NET/BCL/C#.

Best regards.

Flexible Treeview - the most flexible treeview-listview-grid hybrid control for .NET!
    Wednesday, December 09, 2009 11:21 AM

All replies

• Take a look at EnumWindows its a Window API function but you can call it from managed code.
    A programmer Trapped in a thugs body
    Friday, December 04, 2009 7:58 AM
  • Friday, December 04, 2009 9:00 AM