none
An unhandled exception of type 'System.StackOverflowException' occurred in mscorlib.dll?

Question

• Hi I am New To Vb.net . I am Using Visual Studio 2008 Express edition (.NET Framework 3.5) ...  I got this Error when Using A recursive Call To a Function .. I have 3 Background Workers Which Select Data From Database With Status =0 , Take The file Name And File Path Asssosiated With That record, and Then Copy it to other place and on successful completion update the status  to 2 otherwise to 3 . and again searech for other record having Status 0 and so on ..
    i made a method for selection of record from database every worker call this function . Now I have a check when dataset is filled i checked is there any row ? if yes then it do the rest of work otherwise agin call it self to search for the record..... RECURSION...... 
    In Case of records with status zero , It works Fine But in Case of no records Which have status zero it recursively calls itself For approx 1.5 mints and then throws The Exception That " System.StackOverflowException occured in mscorlib.dll at line "DataAdapter.Fill(Dataset,Table)" . I have no Idea what to do with this ..
    Eventhough I have Encloesd It in Try...Catch Blocks but It didnt Cath It .. I serached The Internet and msdn social help for it and i found that it occurs most with infiniteloop or Infinite Recursive calls. i know it is due to my recursive call to the SelectData Function But i have no option without it so please help me out  . Help From Everyone Is appriciated in advance..

And One thing more that this project i mean the exe of this project is concurrently runs with another project Which add data to the databse about Filename Filepath and status =0 for Fresh entry..

Hope This will Clear what i am trying to explain..

Thanks IN Advance

Muhammad BILAL
    Wednesday, April 01, 2009 3:48 PM

Answers