none
Delegates and order of Invocation List..

Question

• I am new to C#..

Delegates have an invocation list where we can add or delete any method and the list does the same..

but while calling the delegate, can we reorder the invocation list?

Meaning that can we control  the order of the invocation list in which the methods would be called??

Suppose:

Code Snippet

internal delegate void Feedback(Int32 value);

public sealed class Program

{

public static void Main()

{

Feedback fb = new Feedback(FeedbackToConsole);

fb += new Feedback(FeedbackToMsgBox);

fb += new Feedback(new Program().FeedbackToFile);

}

}

private static void FeedbackToConsole(Int32 value)

{

/*Do Something*/

}

private static void FeedbackToMsgBox(Int32 value)

{

/*Do Something*/

}

private void FeedbackToFile(Int32 value)

{

/*Do Something*/

}

Here in the previous example, the invocation list would be in order of FeedbackToConsole, FeedbackToMsgBox, and FeedbackToFile...

But If I want to call them say in reverse order then what to do???

Can we control the calling behaviour of the invocation list??

Any answers would be appreciated...

Thanks !

Monday, May 05, 2008 11:48 AM

Answers

• I agree with Marc.  While you can get access to the invocation list it is really nothing more than a list of delegates (object, method pairs).  Making sense of them at runtime is meaningless.

It also doesn't make much sense to control the order of event handlers.  Events are designed to be used as broadcast-type mechanisms.  The order in which handlers are called is undefined as is, technically, whether they are all called at once or one at a time.  It is ultimately up to the event implementer.  The standard implementation is to call handlers in the order they are added and sequentially but this is by no means required.