none
Copy parent/child records

Question

• I know that there are a couple of threads that talk about this, but the "answer" code wasn't all too helpful for a n00b like me. 

I would like to make a button that, when clicked, copies the selected item and its child records into a new entry. I know this can be done, I am just not sure how to do it myself. If anyone could show me an example in code (VB/English, please) and explain a little, I would appreciate it very much. I have no experience manually creating records (let alone child records), so that is what I need the most help with. 

p.s. I am looking to learn, not to copy. I am really hoping that someone will explain the commands a little bit. Thanks!

MessageBox.Show("Hello, world.")

Friday, June 15, 2012 7:18 PM

Answers

• I figured out what the issue was- I was messing everything up with the line "newGSDetail.Greensheet = gsDetails.Greensheet"

Here is the complete functional code that copies a parent record, copies all of the child records, and then opens a modal window to edit the details of the parent record (to save it under a new work order number, etc.):

Private Sub CopyGreensheet_Execute()
                ' Create new greensheet and record the selected item as the old greensheet to be copied.
                Dim newGreensheet As Greensheet = New Greensheet()
                Dim oldGreensheet = Me.Greensheet.SelectedItem

newGreensheet.DrawingNumber = oldGreensheet.DrawingNumber
                newGreensheet.DateEntered = Date.Today.ToShortDateString()

' Step through the details of the old greensheet and copy the values over to the new one.
                For Each gsDetails As GreensheetDetails In oldGreensheet.GreensheetDetails
                    Dim newGSDetail As GreensheetDetails = newGreensheet.GreensheetDetails.AddNew()

newGSDetail.Part = gsDetails.Part
                    newGSDetail.QtyEa = gsDetails.QtyEa
                    newGSDetail.Description = gsDetails.Description