none
VB & SSH

Question

•  

I will begin by letting you know I am new to this forum and new to Visual Studio.  I am a student at Arizona State University and through DreamSpark have been able to download and install Visual Studio 8 at no cost (awesome!).  I am building an application that I would like to use to automatically connect to a remote host through SSH.  The host is an ASU host and all I would like is to download a specific file from the host to be manipulated further by my program.  I have access to the host, as assigned to me through ASU.  Normally, I would just use the 'SSH Secure Shell Client' program (which has been provided to me) to download any files manually.  However, I would prefer an automated program that eliminates any extra work that I do to the file after downloading (this work is always the same).  So there you have the background story and general idea of why and what I am attempting to do.

In order to accomplish my task it appears that I have to buy an SSH ActiveX Component.  Before I do this I want to know that I can accomplish my task with that component or else I would have just wasted my money.  There is only one such COM that I have found which has a trial.  It is here: http://www.ssh-activex.com/.  That is what I am using.

Now, here is my code.

Private Sub butImport_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles butImport.Click

Dim SSH As New MySSH

Dim EXE As String = "cd " & My.Settings.ServerLocation & " |ls -al"

SSH.ExecCommand(My.Settings.ServerHostName, My.Settings.ServerPortNumber, _

My.Settings.ServerUserName, My.Settings.ServerPassword, EXE)

MsgBox(SSH.Result)

End Sub