none
afxmsg_.h is missing

Question

• Hi:
    I am new to windows development so pardon me if this is a FAQ. I am trying to compile a simple MFC hello world app from the Prosis book using visual C++ 2005 express beta2 and the compiler says it can not find afxmsg_.h

It looks like most of the afx* includes are present in c:\program file\microsoft platform sdk\include\mfc directory but afxmsg_.h is missing.

Any ideas what I am doing wrong or missing?

Thanks,
    Bob

Wednesday, June 08, 2005 10:26 PM

Answers

• Hi Bob,

Yes this is an FAQ. MFC is not included in the Express Edition. you need to use Visual Studio Standard Edition or higher for MFC development.

Thanks.

Ronald Laeremans
    Visual C++ team
    Thursday, June 09, 2005 8:17 AM
  • As Ronald indicated, you need to use Visual Studio Standard Edition or higher for MFC development. The PSDK does not include MFC headers.

Thanks,
    Ayman Shoukry
    VC++ Team
    Wednesday, October 25, 2006 7:55 PM

All replies

• Hi Bob,

Yes this is an FAQ. MFC is not included in the Express Edition. you need to use Visual Studio Standard Edition or higher for MFC development.

Thanks.

Ronald Laeremans
    Visual C++ team
    Thursday, June 09, 2005 8:17 AM
  • Thanks Ronald.

Bob

Friday, June 10, 2005 7:59 PM
  • I've recently downloaded Visual C++ Express Edition (8) off the microsoft site
    I've also painstakingly installed the Visual C++ 2005 Express Edition with the Microsoft Platform SDK

I still don't have the afxmsg_.h file. Is there anywhere I can get these missing files?

The include files that have been installed, all seem to have the wrong case for the file names.
    There seems to be a total lack of quality control.

Wednesday, October 25, 2006 7:37 PM
  • As Ronald indicated, you need to use Visual Studio Standard Edition or higher for MFC development. The PSDK does not include MFC headers.

Thanks,
    Ayman Shoukry
    VC++ Team
    Wednesday, October 25, 2006 7:55 PM
  •