none
Visual Basic + Java + Access

Question

• To All,

I am researching a probable upcoming project.  I am likely to need to refactor an existing MS Access application into one that includes VB and Java sections.  Since this is a refactor of an existing (and running) application, I prefer to do it in sections over a period of time.  Eventually no Access will be left and all of it will be VB and Java.  The data will be ported into Oracle.  The application is not trivial and it has grown to exceed Access's capabilities.

My question is -  what tricks exist that can allow these three languages to call each other.  I have never done anything like this before.  Am I stuck with components or JNI?

If this can't be done easily, I'll have to use plan B -- a comprehensive rewrite, all of it in Java.

Thanks for your input.

Dave

Wednesday, May 17, 2006 5:21 PM

Answers

• Well Dave in that case as spotty mentioned in his post, if you are going to use Microsoft based technologies for development stick to it, I have been involved with VB apps talking to Java based COM classes but it ain't pretty at all. So if you are considering Java go all Java if your department prefers that platform. And if you still want the app to be developed using the 2 languages i.e. Java and VB my suggestion would be to use VB on the front end if its a windows based app and use Java to write web services and as far as pure OOAD is concerned the frameworks and platforms of both of these languages are totally different, they can in theory talk with each other using each others classes, but in reality getting it to work is not a trivial task at all and again it would all depend on the architecture of the application also, anyways I hope I was more clear in my response.

Amit

Friday, May 19, 2006 2:09 AM

All replies

• Dave,