none
how to use dll in C#????

Question

• actually, i am new in C# and i am using VS2008 to build a window application. at this stage, i have to build a window form library to import to the main program , the class is built in the dll and the object is built in the main program. is it possible to implement that?how? please state with full example.
    Wednesday, April 15, 2009 2:11 AM

Answers

• Hi Henry,

After clicking "Add Reference" in the "References" folder, select the "Browse" tab, then browse for your dll file.

For the namespace, it really depends what's the namespace in your dll file. But you can get the namespace by this method:

1. Expand the "References" folder
    2. Double click the dll file your added, a object browser will be shown in the middle of the screen. Your dll related object will be automatically selected.
    3. Expand the object and you will find an object with icon "{}", the text behind is your namespace.

say if the name space called "Demo.Test1", then what you need to do it add

using Demo.Test1;

in your code.

Regards,
    Steven
    • Marked as answer by Harry Zhu Tuesday, April 21, 2009 7:52 AM
    Wednesday, April 15, 2009 3:25 AM
  • Hi Henry,

It seems you are trying to create a wrapper API like what I am working on now.

What you need to do is to create a new project and select "Class" instead of windows form application. Inside the class file, create your own class which contains all the functions you need to create. After building the project, it will be the dll you want.

To call your class, import your dll and add the using statement. Then you can call your class like:

YourClass tempClass = new YourClass();
    tempClass.Function1();

Regards,
    Steven
    Wednesday, April 15, 2009 4:02 AM
  • Hi Henry,

You may just think yourself as a API provider from another company. What you do is to sell the API without form design to others.