none
How to disable support for C99 extensions / force compatability with C89?

Question

• Hello,
    I'm working on a school project that requires use of C89 and does not allow use of any C99 or non-standard language extensions.  I'm a C++ programmer that is just learning the differences in C, so I would like to just have this enforced by the compiler.  As such, is it possible to disable support for the C99 extensions on the compiler?  I'm using whidbey beta 2.

Thanks,
    Byron
    Monday, September 12, 2005 5:53 PM

Answers

• There are only two C-99 features that I know of in Whidbey Beta-2.

Support for "long long" - which is really just a synonym of the existing __int64 type.
    Support for variable-argument macros.

There is not a switch to disable these features and there shouldn't be. Maybe I'm being pedantic but C-89 is dead: when a new Standard is created (in no matter what field) old Standards are immediately obsoleted - after all you wouldn't want there to be two Standards.

Having said that it is extremely unlikely that you'd run into these features if you are just doing a school project.
    Tuesday, September 13, 2005 12:40 AM
  • In my experience a lot more people target/use C-89 then use C-99.

We've actually supported C++ single-line comments in C for years. It was one of the earliest requests that our users made: people who had made the migration to C++ but then went back to C found the lack of C++ single-line comments annoying so we added support for them.

You can disable them (or at least cause them to generate a diagnostic) but it is slightly complicated:

1) You need to compile with the /Za - this is our strict mode (and it works better in C code than it does in C++). If you really want portability between compilers then this is probably a good option to use - especially if you are using C.

2) You need to enable warning C4001 as it is usually disabled. To do this you can either add a #pragma to your code:

#pragma warning(1:4001)