none
get column data froom excel spreadsheet to specific column in datagrid using vb.net

Question

• hi. how can i display the data that is in column of excel .. like i have 4 columns in my excel sheet named a,b,c,d and 3 columns in my datagrid named standard,demerit and details ... i'd like only to get the data in column b to display it in standard column of my datagridview. sorry i dont have any codes, im a newbie.. in additional i dont have any database used .. vb.net and excel as my database ...i have a screenshot of my datagridview sample.. any help would be appreciated... thanks :))
    • Edited by chaapple Wednesday, August 22, 2012 8:16 AM
    Wednesday, August 22, 2012 8:09 AM

Answers

• Using OleDb has advantages and disadvantages. Disadvantage is you must have a proper connection string or else the operation to get data will throw an exception. Disadvantage for Office automation is does the client have Excel installed or they have it installed but not the same version as you. If OleDb throws an exception memory used is displosed of, with office automation any objects used will be left in memory. If you want column B via OleDb and there has never been data in column A then asking F2 (if there are no column headers Excel elects column names for you) will throw an exception as would you think is F2 (column B) will be F1. Going back to Office automation, you might need to use late binding rather than early binding, more issues to deal with.

Example 1 we hand code the connection string which a) leaves room for error if the connection string is not properly formatted. We could simple use a DataTable to store data or perhaps a DataReader and cycle thru the data to populat the DataGridView, I elected to use a DataTable which becomes the data source for a BindingSource which provides additional functionality over just a DataTable.

VS2010 code

Public Class Tasking
        WithEvents bsExcelData As New BindingSource
        ' Could be obtained via a OpenDialog