none
Shared Memory Dll with user specified memory size

Question

• Hi,

I'm new to shared memory dll and sharing data between processes.

My objective is as follows: I have to put images obtained from 3 different cameras in a shared memory location so that other application can access it (LabView).

I'm obtaining these images from a single exe using the camera API's provided by the manufacturer.

I have been successful in creating a shared memory dll and copying the image from one camera into it using the sample code given here   http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms686958%28VS.85%29.aspx and im able to read the image data in the target application.

My question is how do I specify a size for shared memory at runtime? since the image sizes would vary according to the resolution used I want to specify the size from the program that stored the data in shared memory.

Also i want to put the images obtained from 3 cameras in three distinct sections within the shared memory. how can this be achieved?

Apart from sharing data how is it possible to synchronize events between the two process e.g. if the target application wants to grab an image, how can it communicate with the camera application through shared dll.

I'm pretty new to a lot of concepts related to windows. I want to understand these well. Kindly guide me..

Tuesday, July 06, 2010 7:23 AM

All replies

• In the sample code the shared memory size is set in the DLL's DLL_PROCESS_ATTACH. Doing it there does not permit you to calculate the size at run time.

The program that stores the data into shared memory can set the size of the shared memory by calling CreateFileMapping & MapViewOfFile without using the DLL.

You can define a struct in the first few bytes of the shared memory region that contains the sizes and offsets to the pictures.  Other programs can first read these items to determine where the pictures are within shared memory.