none
In-Place RESTORE procedure using Power Tool ???

Dotaz

• Ok, I'm relatively new to TFS as I've been evaluating it for the last 2 months as we are thinking of migrating from ClearCase.  I've been a ClearCase admin for 15 years.

So I have a TFS 2010 test environment setup.  I've got the Dec 2011 Power Toys installed on the server.  I've got a backup setup/running successfully for the last 2 weeks using the power toy.

Now I want to simply perform a test in-place restore using the Power toy.  All pieces of TFS are installed on this one test server so I'm thinking this should be simple stupid/slam dunk ...NOT!

What is the correct procedure for doing this!?  First I get errors about databases in use, etc.  So I run the 'tfsservicecontrol quiesce' command and try again only to encounter more errors in the power tool restore indicating databases exists and they need to be dropped, etc. 

Seriously ...I'm pulling my hair out.  Can't the power toy wizard handle an in-place restore with existing databases?  Apparently not.

Does anyone know what hoops I need to jump thru in order to perform this simple restore scenario successfully?  Unbelievable.

• Upravený jdlaw64 13. března 2012 17:25
    13. března 2012 17:24

Odpovědi

• Thanks for the reply.  I guess what I was trying to do is a hybrid of #1.  It's pretty straight forward ... I have a TFS server that's been online for about 30 days in a test environment with everything installed on the one server (TFS, SQL Reporting/Analsyis services, and Sharepoint.).  I wasn't uninstalling anything, removing databases, etc.  I simply wanted to test the restore process "in-place" w/out uninstalling anything, etc.  For example on a "live" functional TFS server.