none
Creating a generic User Control and binding to its controls

Dotaz

• Hi all,

I should probably mention I'm relatively new to WPF and do most of my user interface creation via Visual Studio. It could well be my question is answered by some simple XAML, but I'm still getting to grips with it, so bare with me =)

I'm a little confused as to how to make a generic user control. That is to say that I want to create a control with no specific purpose, but could be used in multiple projects for multiple purposes. Just to try and explain what I mean I will use the following example:

Say I create a login user control with 2 labels: 'lblUsername' and 'lblPassword'
    and 2 text boxes 'dataUsername' and 'dataPassword'
    The user control itself can be given a name of 'LoginControl'

Making the control is easy enough, but if I then add this control to a window I find that I can set the data context of the control, but cannot select the individual text boxes to set which properties to bind to. For example I would love to be able to do something like:

<LoginControl x:Name="login" DataContext="{StaticResource user}"> <LoginControl.dataUsername Text="{Binding Username}"/>
    <LoginControl.dataPassword Text="{Binding Password}">
    </LoginControl>

Or something to that effect...not sure if my XAML is correct there...but you get the idea. Either I'm doing something wrong or the above is just not possible =(
    Depending on who uses the control, or which project it is in, the binding may be to a property called 'Username' / 'LoginName' / 'User' / 'DisplayName' etc etc. So ideally I would not like to make a user conform to any type of template that I have made and rather just allow them access to the control itself. They may even want to change the foreground colour for example so I would like to expose ALL properties of that control, not just text as the example above shows. Can I expose all of these properties for a particular control inside a user control?