none
Date formats and sorting in 2012 Beta

Întrebare

• I'm new to Pivotpower and trying to convert a massive excel based pivot table sheet over. I have installed the 2012 Beta as lead to beleive issues with sorting by date had been fixed, but seems not.  My date a contains a date field "registration date" which is recognised by powerpivot as a date.  I have 2 problems.

1. As far as I can tell I cannot format this date by the very common mmm-yy as it isn't one of the load of obscure formats that you can choose. Did i miss something?

2. I want to sort my dates in reverse order in my pivot table where registration date is my row label.  There still only seems to be a Z to A text type sorting which is utterly useless. Again did I miss something?

Reading round various forums there have bene so many compalints about the handling of dates in the 2008 release I'm surprised it hasn't been resolved in this release. Hopefully I'm just looking in the wrong place.

Thansk for any advice. Mike

10 aprilie 2012 15:20

Răspunsuri

• 1. As far as I can tell I cannot format this date by the very common mmm-yy as it isn't one of the load of obscure formats that you can choose. Did i miss something?

if the format you want is not in the default list (and the format you are after is a month format, not really a date format) you can always create your own calculated column.

eg. MonthName := Format([DateValue], "mmm-yy")

2. I want to sort my dates in reverse order in my pivot table where registration date is my row label.  There still only seems to be a Z to A text type sorting which is utterly useless. Again did I miss something?