none
Select statement across three tables

Question

• I'm unsure of how to right this or if it is even possible.  Here's my situation, I am creating a data entry web site using asp.net and sql server 2005.  On the data entry form the user will select a "Department Unit" from a dropdownlist (this I have working).  A few controls down I need to select a "Code" based of the "Unit Type".  I'm new to the asp.net and have never had to do this before in MS Access or SQL. 

Tables are as follows:

Department                      Unit_Data                               Code
    Department_Unit             Unit Name                          Unit_Type
    StartTS                           Unit_Code                          Code
    EndTS                            Unit_Type                           Code Description
    Code

The Department table is the main data entry table, What I need to do is get the Code from the Code table based of the Unit_Type in the Unit_Data Table.  This all needs to work off the Department_Unit selected value.  How do I right this?

Any assistance would be greatly welcomed?

Terry
    Wednesday, March 17, 2010 2:41 PM

Answers

• Something like

select D.*, UD.*, C.* from Department D inner join UnitData UD on D.Code = UD.Unit_Code inner join Code C on UD.Unit_Type = C.Unit_Type where D.Department_Unit = @DepartmentUnit

?
    Premature optimization is the root of all evil in programming. (c) by Donald Knuth

Naomi Nosonovsky, Sr. Programmer-Analyst

My blog
    Wednesday, March 17, 2010 2:48 PM
  • Terry,

I think this is more related to ASP.NET then to T-SQL. If I remember correctly, you can use data bindings in your ASP.NET controls to populate what you need based on values selected in other controls.

Regards,
    Akim

Wednesday, March 17, 2010 2:52 PM

All replies

• Something like