none
Cant find and delete Analysis Services database in sql server management studio

Question

• Hi all
    I'm new to analysis services and have a problem that should be simple to solve (but not for me).

I create and deploy a analysis services database from vs2008 to a local instance of sql server 2008. I can connect and browse the cube from vs2008 and from other external olap browsers.

Now I want to delete the analysis services database from the sql server but the database (and other analysis service databases) is not visible in sql server management studio. Other database like adventureworksdw2008 is visible.

Any suggestions on how I can find and delete the analysis services database?

Sincerely
    Ole Dan Jørgensen

Sunday, May 17, 2009 10:18 AM

Answers

• First in Registered Servers, Click on the GOLD CUBE, and register the server (instance).

Then in Object Explorer click on Connect select the GOLD CUBE again, and enter the necessary info on the Connect to Server panel (usually default).

At that point you should be seeing all the AS databases and the Cubes withing the DB-s. 
    Kalman Toth, SQL Server 2008 Training, SSAS, SSIS, SSRS, BI: www.SQLUSA.com
    • Marked as answer by ole dan Monday, May 18, 2009 8:21 AM
    Monday, May 18, 2009 1:15 AM
  • Thanks Kalman

Based on your answer I believe that my installation must be corupt. I still dont see no gold cube in registered servers. A repair of the installation did not help (repair ends in failure). I guess the long installation history of various editions of sql server is to must of a challenge.

I did a fresh install of SQL Server 2008 Enterprise trial on another computer and here I see the Golden Cube along with the symbols for database engine, integration services and reporting services. So now I understand what you are talking about.

For now I will continue to work with the new installation.

Thanks again for your time

Ole

Monday, May 18, 2009 8:21 AM

All replies