none
Maximum stored procedure, function, trigger, or view nesting level exceeded (limit 32).

Question

• I'm unsure as to why I'm getting this problem.  I understand the nature of the error message and the searching I've done indicates that I'm unable to change the depth of this.  So my presumption is that the problem is in how this/these procedure 's/are being called.

I have two (at the moment) procedures.  They are very similar in nature, the difference is that the Club Procedure looks for person.  I say 'at the moment' because I'm just starting out with this project and will have more that it will need to parse out in the future

The input XML (@in in this case) in my Test Script looks like this: 

<Root>

<Person ID="1">

<Membership />

<Club ID="1">

<Address />

</Club>		

</Person>

</Root>

The procedure for this is:

PROCEDURE [dbo].[spGetPersonData] (

@in XML,

@ret XML OUTPUT

)

AS

BEGIN

SET NOCOUNT ON;

DECLARE @ChildEntities XML, @node VARCHAR(50), @eType INT, @id INT, @Ctr INT, @club XML

DECLARE @address BIT = 0, @email BIT = 0, @membership BIT = 0, @officers BIT = 0, @phone BIT = 0, @web BIT = 0 

SET @Ctr = 1	

SELECT @node = A.a.value( 'local-name(.)', 'VARCHAR(50)' )

FROM @in.nodes( '*/*' ) A(a)

SELECT @id = A.b.value( 'data(.)', 'INT' )

FROM @in.nodes( '*/*' ) B(a)

CROSS APPLY B.a.nodes( './@*' ) A(b)

SELECT @ChildEntities = C.a.query( 'Club' )

FROM @in.nodes( '*/*' ) C(a)

SET @ChildEntities = ( SELECT @ChildEntities

FOR XML RAW( 'ICE' ) );

IF @ChildEntities IS NOT NULL 

OR LEN ( CAST( @ChildEntities AS VARCHAR(MAX) ) ) > 0 

OR CAST( @ChildEntities AS VARCHAR(MAX) ) != ''	 

BEGIN			

EXEC [dbo].[spGetClubData] @ChildEntities, @club OUTPUT

END

DECLARE @ChildNodes XML, @CurrentNode VARCHAR(50), @t XML

SELECT @ChildNodes = D.a.query( '*' )

FROM @in.nodes( '//*[local-name()=sql:variable( "@node" )]' ) D(a)

SELECT @CurrentNode = E.a.value( 'local-name(.)', 'VARCHAR(50)' )