none
SQL Server 2012 Installation: Service Accounts

Question

• Hi

I am new to SQL Server 2012. I need help with Service Accounts on Server Configuration page. I created another account with a username and password and used it in Service Accounts during SQL server 2012 installation. But SQL server 2012 works only when I log on with that account and not with mine. If I leave everything default, SQL Server still does not work. What I mean is SSMS works fine, I just can't log on to SQL Server through my ASP.NET application. I have seen many tutorials but none deals with this page in detail so that I can understand it.

I really do not understand a bit of the following and also do not know how to tackle these:

NT AUTHORITY\System

NT AUTHORITY\NetworkService

NT AUTHORITY\LOCAL SERVICE(default)

Can anybody guide me in a plain and simple way how to set these account and what is a managed service account?

I'll really appreciate your help

Thanks.

Sunday, November 11, 2012 3:07 PM

Answers

• Hi nice_newbee,

Local System Account: Local System is a very high-privileged built-in account. It has extensive privileges on the local system and acts as the computer on the network. The actual name of the account is NT AUTHORITY\SYSTEM.

Network Service Account: The Network Service account is a built-in account that has more access to resources and objects than members of the Users group. Services that run as the Network Service account access network resources by using the credentials of the computer account in the format <domain_name>\<computer_name>$. The actual name of the account is NT AUTHORITY\NETWORK SERVICE.